Our Privacy Policy has changed. Click HERE to review the change. By using this Site or clicking on “OK”, you consent to acceptance of the change.


Award Programs

The National Academy sponsors and co-sponsors a number of awards. Individuals do not need to be a Fellow of the National Academy to be considered for these awards. Our award programs include:


The Elliot L. Richardson Prize

The Elliot L. Richardson Prize is presented biennially to individuals possessing the public service virtues exemplified by Elliot L. Richardson, an Academy Fellow. Mr. Richardson was an exceptional public servant and the only individual in our nation's history to serve in four Cabinet-level positions in the U.S. government: Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare (HEW), Secretary of Defense, Attorney General and Secretary of Commerce. (More information)


The Herbert Roback Scholarship

The late Herbert Roback was a highly respected public servant. During his 34-year career, he encouraged talented and promising students to consider lifetime careers in the public service. To honor Mr. Roback, his family and friends established the Herbert Roback Scholarship Fund to perpetuate his work. (More information)


The George Graham Award for Exceptional Service to the Academy

In 2006, the National Academy of Public Administration created the George Graham Award for Exceptional Service to the Academy. This award, named for the National Academy’s first president, recognizes those Fellows who have made a sustained and extraordinary contribution toward the Academy becoming a stronger and more respected organization. (More information)


Rosslyn Kleeman Keeper of the Flame Award

The “Keeper of the Flame” Award was established in 2000 as a regular special recognition award for “an individual who has continued to provide public service after their official retirement from the profession.” In establishing the new award, the National Public Service Award (NPSA) Executive Committee recognized that many individuals retire from their career positions and continue to serve the public in other volunteer or paid positions. Often, these active retirees become very directly involved in their local community, working with civic or non-profit organizations. (More information)


The Louis Brownlow Book Award

Since 1968, the National Academy of Public Administration has recognized outstanding contributions to the literature of public administration through presentation of the Louis Brownlow Book Award. The Award recognizes outstanding contributions on topics of wide contemporary interest to practitioners and scholars in the field of public administration. Generally, it is made to an author who provides new insights, fresh analysis, and original ideas that contribute to the understanding of the role of governmental institutions and how they can most effectively serve the public.(More information)


National Public Service Award

Co-sponsored by ASPA and the National Academy of Public Administration, the National Public Service Awards honor individuals who make outstanding contributions and whose accomplishments are models of exemplary public service for those dedicated to the public good—now and in the future. (More information)