NATIONAL ACADEM 1600 K Street, N.W., Suit Washington, DC 20006

1600 K Street, N.W., Suite 400 Phone:(202) 347-3190 Fax:(202)821-4728 Washington, DC 20006 www.napawash.org

For Immediate Release October 17, 2017

Contact: Betsy Holahan bholahan@greatpointstrategies.com

# National Academy of Public Administration Announces The 2017 Class of Academy Fellows

45 Leaders in Public Administration to Join the Academy

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The National Academy of Public Administration today announced that 45 leaders in the field of public administration have been selected for the 2017 Class of Academy Fellows. Induction of the new Fellows will occur during the annual Academy Fall Meeting, which will take place November 16-17 in Washington, D.C.

"I am pleased to welcome this outstanding new group of Fellows during the Academy's 50th anniversary year," said Academy President and CEO Terry Gerton. "Our Fellows are nationally recognized for their contributions to the field of public administration and this year's incoming class will be a tremendous asset to the Academy as we seek to make government work better, and work for all."

Selection of the Academy's new Fellows follows a rigorous review of the individual's contributions to the field of public administration and policy. A Fellows Nominating Committee, selected by the Academy's Board Chair, makes its recommendations to the full Fellowship, which then votes on those individuals nominated to be a Fellow. The Committee was chaired by Dr. David E. Lewis, Professor and Chair, Department of Political Science, Vanderbilt University.

The 2017 class joins more than 850 Academy Fellows -- including former cabinet officers, members of Congress, governors, mayors, and state legislators, as well as prominent scholars, business executives, and public administrators. Below is the list of new Academy Fellows:

### **ELIZABETH ANGERMAN**

Executive Director, Unified Shared Service Management Office, U.S. General Services Administration

### MARY JO BANE

Thornton Bradshaw Professor of Public Policy and Management, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

#### NAOMI BARRY-PEREZ

Director, Civil Rights Center, U.S. Department of Labor

#### MATHEW BLUM

Associate Administrator for Federal Procurement Policy (OFPP), U.S. Office of Management and Budget, U.S. Executive Office of the President

# JAMES BOWMAN

Professor of Public Administration, Florida State University

# **ELLIOTT BRANCH**

Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy (Acquisition and Procurement), U.S. Department of Navy, U.S. Department of Defense

# RICHARD CALLAHAN

Professor and Department Chair, Department of Public and Nonprofit Administration School of Management, University of San Francisco

# **BETH COBERT**

Chief Executive Officer, Initiative Skillful, Markle Foundation

#### MARY DAVIE

Assistant Commissioner, Information Technology Category, U.S. General Services Administration

#### CHARLES EPP

University Distinguished Professor, School of Public Affairs, University of Kansas

# ANDREW FELDMAN

Visiting Fellow, The Brookings Institution

#### TERESA GERTON

President and Chief Executive Officer, National Academy of Public Administration

# **BASIL GOODEN**

Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry, Commonwealth of Virginia

#### RICHARD HALEY

Assistant Director, Finance Division and CFO, Federal Bureau of Investigation, U.S. Department of Justice

#### CYNTHIA HECKMANN

Project Director, National Academy of Public Administration

#### OCTAVIO HINOJOSA-MIER

Executive Director, The National Hispanic Corporate Council; Founder & Owner, Plus Ultra Strategies, LLC

#### **BRYAN JONES**

Professor J.J. Pickle Regents Chair in Congressional Studies, LBJ School of Public Affairs, The University of Texas

### **SUZANNE LOGAN**

Director, Federal Executive Institute, U.S. Office of Personal Management

# **RANDY LYON**

Chief Financial Officer and Director of Development, National Academy of Public Administration

#### JENNIFER MAIN

Chief Financial Officer, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

### JIM MALATRAS

President, Rockefeller Institute of Government

# KARL MASCHINO

Chief Administrative Officer/Chief Financial Officer, U.S. Government Accountability Office

#### MICHAEL MCCORD

Director, Civil-Military Programs, Stennis Center for Public Service

# SEAN NICHOLSON-CROTTY

Professor of Public Affairs, School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Indiana University

#### ANNE O'CONNELL

George Johnson Professor of Law, University of California, Berkeley

# ROBERT ORR

Dean, School of Public Policy, University of Maryland

#### MARC OTT

Executive Director, International City/County Management Association

# TODD PARK

National Technology Entrepreneur; Advisor to Silicon Valley

# MAMIE PARKER

Founder and President of Ma Parker and Associates

# ROBERT PERCIASEPE

President, Center for Climate and Energy Strategies

# JOHN POTTER

President and Chief Executive Officer, Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority

#### MARK REGER

Deputy Controller, Office of Federal Financial Management, U.S. Office of Management and Budget, U.S. Executive Office of the President

#### MARIO RIVERA

Regents' Professor, School of Public Administration, The University of New Mexico

# JODI SANDFORT

Professor and Chair, Leadership & Management Area; Academic Director, Future Services Institute and Hubert Project, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota

# ANTHONY SCARDINO

Deputy Under Secretary (Acting) and Chief Financial Officer, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, U.S. Department of Commerce

# MARIKO SILVER

President, Bennington College

# ROBERT STALZER

Deputy County Executive, Planning & Development, Fairfax County, Virginia

# KENDRA STEWART

Professor and Director, The Riley Center for Livable Communities, The College of Charleston

# JAMES TAYLOR

Managing Director, Grant Thornton, LLP

#### DEBRA TOMCHEK

Vice President, ICF

# PRAJAPATI TRIVEDI

Senior Fellow (Governance), Bharti Institute of Public Policy; Adjunct Professor of Public Policy, Indian School of Business; Visiting Fellow, IBM Center for the Business of Government

#### JEANNE VAN VLANDREN

Independent Consultant

# JANET WEISS

Mary C. Bromage Collegiate Professor of Business and Professor of Public Policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, University of Michigan

# JOSEPH WESTPHAL

Retired U.S. Ambassador to Saudi Arabia

# JACQUELYN WILLIAMS-BRIDGERS

Chief of Party, Integrity for Investments Initiative, Deloitte Consulting

# **About the National Academy of Public Administration**:

Chartered by Congress to provide non-partisan expert advice, the Academy is an independent, non-profit, and non-partisan organization established in 1967 to assist government leaders in building more effective, efficient, accountable, and transparent organizations. Learn more at <a href="https://www.napawash.org">www.napawash.org</a>

###