

For Immediate Release January 22, 2020 Contact: Betsy Holahan <u>bholahan@greatpointstrategies.com</u>

Governor Jerry Brown to Receive National Academy of Public Administration's "Elliot L. Richardson Prize for Excellence in Public Service" *Prize awarded at January 23rd ceremony; Francis Rose to moderate discussion*

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The National Academy of Public Administration today announced that **Governor Edmund G. "Jerry" Brown, Jr.** will receive the **Elliot L. Richardson Prize for Excellence in Public Service** on January 23, 2020 at an award ceremony in Washington, D.C.

"The Elliot L. Richardson Prize Fund and the Academy are pleased to honor Governor Brown for his long and distinguished career in public service," said Terry Gerton, President and CEO of the Academy. "His contributions, commitment and leadership in state government make him an outstanding role model for future generations."

The award ceremony will take place on January 23rd at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, D.C., with *Government Matters* host **Francis Rose** moderating a discussion on public service with Governor Brown.

The Elliot L. Richardson Prize is presented on a biennial basis to individuals possessing the outstanding public service virtues exemplified by the late Mr. Richardson. An Academy Fellow, Mr. Richardson served in four Cabinet-level positions in the U.S. government: Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare (HEW), Secretary of Defense, Attorney General and Secretary of Commerce.

Governor Jerry Brown is the former Governor of California, serving as the 34th Governor (1975-1983) and again as the 39th Governor (2011-2019). He also served as the California Secretary of State (1971-1975), Mayor of Oakland, California (1999-2007), and Attorney General of California (2007-2011).

Honorees are selected by Elliot L. Richardson Prize Fund Nominating Committee, cochaired by Joseph E. Kasputys and J.T. Smith, II, from the nominations submitted by Academy Fellows, members of the nominating committee and other members of the Academy. The Elliot L. Richardson Prize Fund Board of Directors, chaired by Michael C. Rogers, then confirms the selection. The National Academy of Public Administration houses the Richardson Prize Fund.

Previous recipients of this distinguished award include Colin Powell, Alice Rivlin, George Shultz, Norman Mineta, Sandra Day O'Connor, Lee Hamilton, Tom Kean, James Baker, George J. Mitchell, Robert Gates, Paul Volcker, Sheila Bair, John Koskinen, William Ruckelshaus, Sylvia Mathews Burwell, and Leon Panetta – all Fellows or Honorary Fellows of the Academy.

Registration details and a detailed itinerary can be found here.

Elliott L. Richardson Prize Award Ceremony:

WHAT:	Elliot L. Richardson Prize for Excellence in Public Service award ceremony and moderated discussion with Governor Jerry Brown
WHERE:	Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center – Pavilion Room 1300 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
	Washington, D.C.
WHEN:	January 23, 2020
	6:15 pm – 9:00 pm
WHO:	Governor Jerry Brown
	Francis Rose, Host, Government Matters (WJLA/ABC-7)
	Terry Gerton, President and CEO of the Academy
MEDIA:	Media planning to attend should RSVP to
	bholahan@greatpointstrategies.com

About the National Academy of Public Administration

Chartered by Congress to provide non-partisan expert advice, the Academy is an independent, non-profit, and non-partisan organization established in 1967 to assist government leaders in building more effective, efficient, accountable, and transparent organizations. Learn more at <u>www.napawash.org</u>

###