

For Immediate Release September 16, 2019 Contact: Betsy Holahan <u>bholahan@greatpointstrategies.com</u>

National Academy of Public Administration Announces 2019 Class of Academy Fellows

51 Leaders in Public Administration to Join the Academy

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The National Academy of Public Administration today announced that 51 leaders in the field of public administration have been selected for the 2019 Class of Academy Fellows. Induction of the new Fellows will occur during the annual <u>Academy Fall Meeting</u>, which will take place November 7-8 in Arlington, Virginia.

"I am very pleased to welcome our 2019 class of Fellows," said Academy President and CEO Terry Gerton. "Our Fellows are nationally recognized for their expertise and contributions to the field of public administration and this year's incoming class is no exception. They are an outstanding group that will enrich our Fellowship, especially as we unveil the <u>Grand Challenges</u> in <u>Public Administration</u> and collaborate across the field to find solutions."

Selection of the Academy's new Fellows follows a rigorous review of the individual's contributions to the field of public administration and policy. A Fellows Nominating Committee, selected by the Academy's Board Chair, makes its recommendations to the full Fellowship, which then votes on those individuals nominated to be a Fellow. The Committee was co-chaired by Academy Fellows Barbara Romzek, Professor, School of Public Affairs, American University and Nani Coloretti, Senior Vice President, Financial and Business Strategy, Urban Institute.

The 2019 class joins more than 900 Academy Fellows – including former cabinet officers, members of Congress, governors, mayors and state legislators, as well as prominent scholars, business executives, nonprofit leaders, and public administrators. Below is the list of new Academy Fellows:

ANGELA BAILEY

Chief Human Capital Officer, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

JAMES BAKER

Professor, College of Law and Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs; Director, Institute for National Security and Counterterrorism, Syracuse University JOYCE BARR Professor of Practice, Government and International Affairs, Virginia Tech University

RAJADE BERRY-JAMES Associate Professor, School of International and Public Affairs, North Carolina State University

LAURA BLOOMBERG Dean, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota

LEONARD BURMAN Fellow, Tax Policy Institute, The Urban Institute; Paul Volcker Professor of Behavioral Economics and Professor of Public Administration and International Affairs, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Syracuse University

CLARENCE CRAWFORD Board Member, Maryland State Board of Education; Adjunct Associate Professor, American University

NICOLE DARNALL Associate Dean and Professor, School of Sustainability, Arizona State University

JANINE DAVIDSON President, Metropolitan State University of Denver

PATRIA DE LANCER JULNES

Associate Dean of Academic Programs and Professor, Austin W. Marxe School of Public and International Affairs, Baruch College

MARY FEENEY Professor, School of Public Affairs, Arizona State University

BRODI FONTENOT Chief Executive Officer, Fontenot Strategic Consulting, LLC

BETH GAZLEY Professor, School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Indiana University Bloomington

DAVID GRAGAN Chief Learning Officer, Government of the District of Columbia

DAVID GRANT Founder and Partner, Potomac Ridge Consulting

MARGARET GRAVES Deputy Federal Chief Information Officer and Acting Federal Chief Information Officer, Office of Management and Budget, Executive Office of the President TIMOTHY GRIBBEN Commissioner, Bureau of the Fiscal Service, U.S. Department of the Treasury

STEPHEN HAMILL Principal and Founder, Shared Leadership Group, LLC

NICHOLAS HART Chief Executive Officer, The Data Coalition

JOHN HICKS Executive Director, National Association of State Budget Officers

KAYE HUSBANDS FEALING Chair and Professor, School of Public Policy, Georgia Institute of Technology

MICHAEL JACOBSON Deputy Director, Performance and Strategy, King County Office of Performance, Strategy and Budget, State of Washington

CHAVONDA JACOBS-YOUNG Administrator of the Agricultural Research Service and Acting Chief Scientist, U.S. Department of Agriculture

JOCELYN M. JOHNSTON Professor of Public Administration and Policy, School of Public Affairs, American University

LAEL KEISER Professor and Interim Chair of Political Science and Director, Truman School of Public Affairs, University of Missouri

RAMAYYA KRISHNAN Dean, Heinz College of Information Systems and Public Policy, and Professor of Management Science and Information Systems, Carnegie Mellon University

SABINE KUHLMANN Professor for Administration and Organisation, Department of Public Administration and Political Sciences, University of Potsdam, Germany

DAVID LAZER University Distinguished Professor, Political Science and Computer Sciences, Northeastern University

PETER LEVINE Senior Research Fellow, Strategy, Forces and Resources Division, Institute for Defense Analyses JEFFREY LIEBMAN Malcolm Weiner Professor of Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School

LEONARD LOPOO Maxwell Advisory Board Professor of Public Policy, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Syracuse University

ALBERT MEIBURG Director, Graduate Studies in Sustainability, Wake Forest University

MARTIN O'MALLEY Former Governor, State of Maryland

THERESA PARDO Director, Center for Technology in Government, and Research Associate Professor, Rockefeller College of Public Affairs and Policy, University at Albany, State University of New York

R. KARL RETHEMEYER Dean, Rockefeller College of Public Affairs and Policy, University at Albany, State University of New York

MICHELLE SAGER Director, Strategic Issues, U.S. Government Accountability Office

SONAL SHAH Executive Director, Beeck Center for Social Impact and Innovation, Georgetown University

MARGARET (PEGGY) SHERRY Deputy Chief Financial Officer, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, U.S. Department of the Treasury

PATRICIA SHIELDS Professor of Political Science, Texas State University

MARGARET SIMMS Nonresident Fellow, Labor, Human Services and Population, Urban Institute

CEDRIC SIMS Senior Vice President, Justice, Homeland Security and Transportation, Booz Allen Hamilton

ANTHONY SNIPES City Manager, City of Missouri City, Texas DAN SOKOLOV Deputy Associate Director, Research, Markets and Regulations, U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

LOUIS UCCELLINI Director, National Weather Service

GREGG VAN RYZIN Professor, School of Public Affairs and Administration, Rutgers University

TRACY WAREING EVANS President and Chief Executive Officer, American Public Human Services Association

DANIEL WEITZNER Founding Director, Internet Policy Research Initiative, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

PETER WILCOXEN Ajello Professor in Energy and Environmental Policy, Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professor for Teaching Excellence, and Director, Center for Environmental Policy and Administration, Syracuse University

DAVID WILLIAMS Vice Chairman, Board of Governors, U.S. Postal Service

IRVING WILLIAMSON Commissioner, U.S. International Trade Commission

MICHAEL WOOTEN Administrator, Office of Federal Procurement Policy, Executive Office of the President

About the National Academy of Public Administration:

Chartered by Congress to provide non-partisan expert advice, the Academy is an independent, non-profit, and non-partisan organization established in 1967 to assist government leaders in building more effective, efficient, accountable, and transparent organizations. Learn more at <u>www.napawash.org</u>

###