1600 K Street, N.W., Suite 400 Washington, DC 20006

Phone:(202) 347-3190 Fax:(202)821-4728 www.napawash.org

For Immediate Release September 24, 2020

Contact: Betsy Holahan <u>bholahan@greatpointstrategies.com</u>

National Academy of Public Administration Announces 2020 Class of Academy Fellows

45 Leaders in Public Administration to Join the Academy

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The National Academy of Public Administration today announced that 45 leaders in the field of public administration have been selected for the 2020 Class of Academy Fellows. Induction of the new Fellows will occur during the annual <u>Academy Fall Meeting</u>, which will take place virtually November 5-10.

"I am very pleased to welcome the Academy's 2020 class of Fellows," said Terry Gerton, President and CEO of the Academy. "Our distinguished Fellows are nationally recognized for their expertise and contributions to the field of public administration and this year's incoming class is no exception. During this especially turbulent time for government, we welcome their experience and perspective as we work collaboratively to find solutions to the Grand Challenges in Public Administration, advance social equity and build resilient communities."

Selection of the Academy's new Fellows follows a rigorous review of the individual's contributions to the field of public administration and policy. A Fellows Nominating Committee, selected by the Academy's Board Chair, makes its recommendations to the full Fellowship, which then votes on those individuals nominated to be a Fellow. The Committee was cochaired by Academy Fellows Barbara Romzek, Professor, School of Public Affairs, American University and Katherine Siggerud, Chief Operating Officer, U.S. Government Accountability Office.

The 2020 class joins more than 940 Academy Fellows – including former cabinet officers, members of Congress, governors, mayors and state legislators, as well as prominent scholars, business executives, nonprofit leaders, and public administrators. Below is the list of new Academy Fellows:

MICHELLE ALLETTO

Chief Program and Services Officer, Texas Health and Human Services Commission

STEPHEN AYERS
President, The Ayers Group

JOHN BARTRUM

Brigadier General, Mobilization Assistant to the Deputy Surgeon General, Headquarters Air Force; Chief Executive Officer, Brightstar Innovations Group, LLC

MARYBEL BATJER

President, California Public Utilities Commission

GEOFF BECKWITH

Executive Director & CEO of the Massachusetts Municipal Association; President & CEO of the Massachusetts Interlocal Insurance Association; and Mentor for Global Organizations Lab, Sloan School of Management, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

FRANCINE BERMAN

Hamilton Distinguished Professor of Computer Science, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

JAMIE BOEX

Managing Director, LPS Associates, LLC

GENE BREWER

Professor of Public Administration and Policy, School of Public and International Affairs, University of Georgia

TANISHA BRILEY

City Manager, City of Gaithersburg, Maryland

TC BROADNAX

City Manager, City of Dallas, Texas

JOSEPH CHRISTOFF

Senior Vice President, Management Systems International

ANGELA CLOWERS

Managing Director, Health Care Team, U.S. Government Accountability Office

MARCIA CONNER

Executive Director, National Forum for Black Public Administrators

MICHAEL DEICH

Institute Fellow, Executive Office Research, Urban Institute

AMY EDWARDS

Deputy Assistant Secretary, Accounting Policy and Financial Transparency, U.S. Department of the Treasury

ANGELA EIKENBERRY

Professor, School of Public Administration, University of Nebraska at Omaha

P. EDWARD FRENCH

Professor and Department Head, Political Science and Public Administration, Mississippi State University

THERESA GULLO

Director of Budget Analysis, U.S. Congressional Budget Office

JEREMY L. HALL

Professor and PhD Program Director, School of Public Administration, University of Central Florida; Co-Editor in Chief, Public Administration Review

EDWARD (NED) HILL

Professor of Economic Development, John Glenn College of Public Affairs, The Ohio State University; Faculty, Ohio Manufacturing Institute, The Ohio State University

DEBORAH PARHAM HOPSON

Senior Vice President, Center for Public Health Systems Innovation, The MayaTech Corporation

KIMBERLEY ISETT

Professor and Associate Dean, Biden School, University of Delaware; Adjunct Professor, Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University; Professor (Subject Lead), Australia New Zealand School of Government

CALVIN JOHNSON

Deputy Assistant Secretary, Policy Development and Research, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

RICHARD GREGGORY JOHNSON III

Director-University Institutional Review Board (IRB/Research Ethics) Associate Provost Office, University of San Francisco; Department Chair for Public and Nonprofit Administration and Full Professor of Public Administration with Tenure, School of Management, University of San Francisco

RENDELL JONES

Deputy Executive Director, National Credit Union Administration

ROBIN KRAMER

Managing Director, The Smidt Foundation

LAUREN LARSON

Director, Governor's Office of State Planning & Budgeting, State of Colorado

JARED LLORENS

Interim Dean, College of Business, Louisiana State University; Professor, Department of Public Administration, Louisiana State University

JANE LUTE

Chief Executive Officer, Sicpa SecurInk Corporation

FELICIA MARCUS

William C. Landreth Visiting Fellow, Stanford University, Water in the West Program; Founding Member, Water Policy Group

SHARON MASTRACCI

Professor and Director, Programs of Public Affairs, University of Utah

GENE MIGLIACCIO

Associate Dean and Professor, Milken Institute School of Public Health, The George Washington University; Chief Executive Officer and Founder, Public Health Strategies, LLC

SIAN MOONEY

Dean and Professor, O'Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Indiana University

ANDREA NORRIS

Chief Information Officer and Director, Center for Information Technology, National Institutes of Health (NIH)

LARRY PALMER

Ambassador in Residence, Office of the Provost, Howard University

DAVE POWNER

Director, Strategic Engagement and Partnerships, MITRE Corporation

MIGUEL SANTANA

President and Chief Executive Officer, Fairplex

PHILLIP SINGERMAN

Senior Advisor to the President for Technology Transfer and Commercialization, Montgomery County (Maryland) Economic Development Corporation

KATHRYN SULLIVAN

Senior Fellow, Potomac Institute for Policy Studies

HEATH TARBERT

Chairman and Chief Executive, Commodity Futures Trading Commission

VICTORIA WACHINO

Chief Executive Officer, Community Oriented Correctional Health Services

JAY WALDER

Chief Executive Officer, Virgin Hyperloop One

KIMBERLY WALTON

Executive Assistant Administrator, Transportation Security Administration, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

JANE WISEMAN

Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Institute for Excellence in Government

RENEE WYNN

Chief Information Officer, NASA

About the National Academy of Public Administration:

Chartered by Congress to provide non-partisan expert advice, the Academy is an independent, non-profit, and non-partisan organization established in 1967 to assist government leaders in building more effective, efficient, accountable, and transparent organizations. Learn more at www.napawash.org

###